History of the Diocese of Kajo-Keji

The Diocese was established in 1986 following a decision of the House of Bishops meeting held in 1985 in Juba. Thereafter, Bishop Manasseh Dawidi was appointed to lead the Diocese as the first bishop. However, he was not able to relocate to the Diocese due to the civil war.

Between 1986 and 2005, we faced many challenges, and had communication difficulties with the rest of the Anglican Communion. When the CPA was signed in 2005 many Christians returned home to the Diocese and in 2007 the new Bishop, Rt. Rev. Anthony Poggo, was elected and enthroned as Bishop of Kajo-Keji.

During this period up to this date the Diocese is experiencing rapid developments spiritually and holistically. The Diocese has eight Archdeaconries, sixteen Deaneries, fifty seven Parishes; five sub Parishes and more than one hundred Preaching Centres.